NEW CONCEPT DRIVING SCHOOL COURSE INFORMATION
Satisfactory completion of a state-approved course consisting of 30 hours of driving lessons in a classroom setting, and 6 – 80 minute Behind-the-Wheel Sessions. We feel the observation option creates more of a distraction for the driver so we have opted to provide an additional 2 hours of driving at no extra charge. This is also an approved substitution accepted by the Illinois Secretary of State. The above is required of students under the age of 18 who would like to acquire a driver’s license in the State of Illinois. Our full courses last for 4 weeks. A student may take the classroom portion only, however we do not offer Behind-the-Wheel training separately.All students need to fill out a Driver Education Approval form. This form indicates to us the student has passed 8 classes within the last two semesters. If the student is a freshman 8th grade transcripts are acceptable (this is a mandatory requirement)
Students must be on time for their classes and each class will last the full two hours unless advised otherwise.
Students must complete the full 30 hours of classroom to receive their certificate of completion. They may not
miss more than four classes during their session. If they do, we are required by the Secretary of State to have
the student retake the classroom portion of the course. For those students missing four or fewer classes, you
will need to make up all of the missed classes during any of our classroom times.
All required worksheets, activities and presentations must be completed for satisfactory completion of the
course. In addition, a minimum of a 75% score is required on the mid-term examination, final examination
and quizzes. Any student scoring below a 75% on any of these tests will be allowed to restudy and retake the
Scheduling Driving Lessons
Students must obtain their instructional permits before they may schedule any driving lessons. Classroom
instructors will provide a schedule of available driving times for the students to choose from. Students need
to have a valid permit in their possession for each ride. Students may not schedule drives that interfere with
their classroom time and must schedule their first and fourth drive a minimum of two weeks apart. Lesson
time for practice driving is not used to call for, deliver, or dismiss other students to their homes or pick-up
points. Generally, two students are paired up for each driving lesson. There will be 6 – 80 minute scheduled driving lessons.
If the student is unable to make a scheduled driving appointment, a $50 missed lesson fee will be charged if the cancellation
is not made at least 24 hours before the scheduled lesson. Students must present their permit to the driving
instructor before each lesson. If students do not have their permit available for their lesson, they will not be
allowed to drive and will be charged the $50 missed lesson fee.
The 30-Hour Teen Course is $399.00. A deposit of $125.00 holds a seat in the class. The balance can be paid
in two or three payments but needs to be paid in full by the end of the third week. Payments can be made by
cash, check, or credit card. We accept MasterCard and Visa. There will be a $35 charge for any returned
Permits and Licenses
Illinois requires 4 hours of classroom instruction in a qualified driver education program before student’s
ages 15-17 years old may obtain a driving permit. If the student does not complete the 30-hour classroom
session in its entirety, Illinois law requires us to revoke the student’s permit. After the student has
successfully completed both phases of the course and turned in all other required items, they will receive a
letter from the Secretary of State that verifies they are eligible to receive an Illinois driver’s license at 16 years
of age. The student must also have held their permit for at least 9 months. Students must save this letter, as it
is one of the items they will need to present at the driver’s facility when they return to get their license. Students
should receive this letter in the mail 2-3 weeks after completing the course. If it is not received within 21
days, please call our office so we may follow up on it. Also, if you are uncertain if you have made up all of your
classes and turned everything in please double check with the office.
High School Credit
Most high schools require successful completion of a driver education course to graduate. After successfully
completing our program, you will receive a letter from our school verifying your completion of the state
required driver education course work. You may present this letter to your high school to receive credit for